尋找臨床醫生

選擇提供者

選擇保健醫生的最佳方法

肖妮健康服務公司執行董事Patsy Jensen表示:“尋找私人醫生或保健醫生是朝著更健康的生活方式邁出的重要一步。” “最佳從業人員可以為您提供以患者為中心的護理方法,並幫助您專注於預防和健康。他們為健康問題提供了創新的解決方案,並讓您隨時了解自己的健康狀況。”

當您尋找新的醫生或執業醫師時,以下是一些要考慮的因素:

滿足您的需求

專家建議選擇初級保健醫生。該專業人員可能是家庭醫學或內科醫學的醫生。通常,初級保健醫師在其監督下在他們的辦公室裡有內科醫生助理或執業醫師。在某些情況下,一個人可能更願意選擇在特定專業範圍內執業的從業人員。婦女可能會更願意與婦產科醫生(OB / GYN)擔任初級保健醫生。兒科醫生可能是兒童的主要保健醫生。老年人甚至可以由一名老年醫師作為他們的主要護理醫師。您的初級保健醫生應該能夠理解和管理您的醫療需求,並在您需要專家的情況下為您提供適當的推薦。

保險或健康保險

您選擇的執業醫師可能會受到健康保險公司或健康保險的限制。保險公司與個人或團體慣例有合同。您很有可能在不支付額外費用的情況下就無法離開保險公司的提供商網絡。一些保險公司不對您選擇的醫生強加任何限制。如果您享有Medicare(65歲以上或任何殘障年齡段的人的承保)或Medicaid(您居住的州所提供的合格人員的承保),則應確認您的執業醫師接受您的承保,並將提交為您索賠。

方便

方便是選擇從業者的另一個重要因素。從您的家庭或工作場所應該可以方便地訪問您的執業醫師辦公室。您可能想知道您的執業醫師是否在您首選的醫院接受特權。今天,大多數從業人員都安排住院醫生來管理您在住院期間的護理。

詢問您的從業人員可以在哪裡執行診斷測試和程序。一些醫生可能使用單獨的設施而不是自己的辦公室。

在您的從業者辦公室了解任命過程的工作方式。

大多數醫療辦公室會在您離開辦公室之前安排下一次訪問,並提供預約提醒電話。當急需出現時,許多醫療機構會為既定患者提供當日預約。

理想情況下,您的首次訪問將包括例行的身體檢查和病歷記錄。準備知道您以前的診斷,用藥,任何醫療程序,手術或住院的日期。如果您有復雜的病史,則可能需要安排將記錄轉移到新的醫療辦公室。

詢問推薦人

來自家人,朋友和其他可信賴來源的推薦是找到新從業人員的最常見方法。人們在與醫療保健提供者有積極的經驗後會很樂意轉診。這可能是了解執業者的執業理念,個性和溝通技巧的最佳方法。

您可能需要考慮在您所在社區中獲得聯邦認證的健康中心。

除了提供基本醫療服務外,他們還可以提供牙科服務,營養諮詢,行為健康和病例管理服務。

其他資源包括您當地醫院或衛生組織的網站。一些社區設有護士呼叫中心,或者您可以諮詢您當地的衛生部門,以指導您使用特定類型的從業人員或醫療服務。電話簿和在線目錄也按專科類型列出醫生。

並非每個從業者都接受新患者。一旦您有感興趣的從業人員的姓名,請聯繫其辦公室,以確保他們將接受新患者以及您所攜帶的保險或承保範圍,並了解對您而言重要的事項。

您可能需要確認您的執業醫師具有在州醫療委員會執業的最新執照。該許可機構還將告訴您他/她是否有任何待處理的紀律處分或投訴。

  • 聖誕前夕:2020年12月24日-休息
  • 聖誕節:2020年12月25日-休息
  • 除夕:2020年12月31日-正常營業時間
  • 元旦:2021年1月1日-休息
  • 聖誕前夕:2020年12月24日-上午8點-下午1點
  • 聖誕節:2020年12月25日-休息
  • 除夕:2020年12月31日-上午8點-下午5點
  • 元旦:2021年1月1日-上午8點-下午1點
跳到內容

Find a Provider

Selecting a Provider

Best Methods for Selecting a Health Practitioner

“Finding a personal physician or health practitioner is an important step toward living a healthier lifestyle” says Patsy Jensen, Executive Director of Shawnee Health Service.  “The best practitioners offer you a patient centered approach to your care and help you focus on prevention and wellness.  They provide creative solutions to health issues and keep you informed about your health conditions.”

Here are some elements to consider when you are searching for a new doctor or practitioner:

MEETING YOUR NEEDS

Experts recommend selecting a primary care practitioner.  This professional might be a physician in Family Medicine or Internal Medicine.  Often, primary care physicians have Physician Assistants or Nurse Practitioners working in their offices under their supervision.  Under some circumstances, a person may prefer to select a practitioner practicing within a particular specialty.  Women might feel more comfortable with an Obstetrician/Gynecologist (OB/GYN) as a primary care physician.  A Pediatrician might be the primary care physician for children.  Seniors could even have a Geriatrician as their primary care physician.  Your primary care practitioner should be able to understand and manage your medical needs, as well as offer you appropriate referrals should you need a specialist.

INSURANCE OR HEALTH COVERAGE

Your choice of practitioner may be limited by your health insurance carrier or health coverage.  Insurance companies have contracts with individuals or group practices.  It is highly likely that you cannot go outside of your insurer’s provider network without paying an additional fee.  Some insurance carriers do not impose restrictions on your choice of physicians.  If you are covered by Medicare (coverage for those over age 65 or those of any age with a disability) or Medicaid (coverage for qualified individuals provided by the State where you live), you should confirm that your practitioner accepts your coverage and will submit claims for you.

CONVENIENCE

Convenience is another important factor when choosing a practitioner.  Your practitioner’s office should be easily accessible from your home or workplace.  You may want to know if your practitioner has admitting privileges at your preferred hospital.  Today, most practitioners arrange for a Hospitalist physician to manage your care during a hospital stay.

Ask where your practitioner can perform diagnostic tests and procedures.  Some doctors might use a separate facility rather than their own offices.

Find out how the appointment process works at your practitioner’s office.

Most medical offices schedule the next visit before you leave the office and provide appointment reminder calls.  Many medical offices offer same-day appointments to established patients when an urgent need arises.

Ideally, your first visit will include a routine physical examination and documentation of your medical history.  Be prepared to know your previous diagnoses, medications, dates of any medical procedures, surgeries or hospitalizations.  If you have a complex medical history, you may want to arrange for a transfer of records to your new medical office.

ASK FOR REFERRALS

A recommendation from family, friends, and other trusted sources is the most common way to find a new practitioner.  People will gladly give referrals when they have had positive experiences with their health care providers.  This may be the best way to learn about a practitioner’s practice philosophy, personality and communication skills.

You may want to consider a Federally Qualified Health Center in your community.

In addition to providing primary medical care, they may also offer dental services, nutrition counseling, behavioral health and case management services.

Other resources include web sites for your local hospital or health organizations.  Some communities have nurse call centers or you can consult with your local health department to guide you to a particular type of practitioner or medical service.  Telephone directories and on-line directories also list physicians by type of specialty.

Not every practitioner accepts new patients. Once you have the name of a practitioner you are interested in, contact their office to make sure they will accept new patients as well as the insurance or coverage you carry and to learn about any matter of importance to you.

You may want to confirm that your practitioner has a current license to practice with the state medical board.  This licensing body will also tell you if he or she has any pending disciplinary action or complaints.